top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureYeeun (Gloria)

Yonsei Fall 2017 Reflection

Updated: Jan 20, 2019



If I can sum up my experience in Yonsei in one word for Fall semester, I would describe it as a “blur.” From the feelings of anticipation to running around checking off the endless list of what to do in Korea, the Fall semester went by too fast for my liking. Adjusting to Yonsei was predominantly easy for me since the English instructed classes were structured pretty similarly to the classes back in my home university, UC Santa Barbara. Since I decided to finish my senior year studying abroad, I had more leisure to take things more slowly than other exchange students who are only there for one semester. Nevertheless, I felt like my life was like a blur.


Although I cannot say for all the exchange students in Yonsei, since I am Korean American and possess a proficient fluency of the language, I was surprised by the general positive experience with the interaction with the Yonsei students. But definitely, there seems to be a line drawn by them, especially since they try not to form a deep connection since most exchange students leave after one semester. I was worried that there might be more hostility since Yonsei is one of the top three universities in Korea. There have been cases where Yonsei students were hostile to the exchange or international students because it is percepted that the foreign students are accepted or welcomed so easily compared to them. I guess the American equivalent to this is seeing foreign or international students being able to easily access some form of education from the Ivy League universities without the strenuous work that is required to be accepted into the universities.


Fall semester in Yonsei was definitely highlighted by the annual “Yon-go-jeon” (연고전) games. This annual event is where Yonsei and its rival school, Korea University, compete in a series of different sport matches (ie. soccer, baseball, basketball, etc). Normally I do not like watching sports or going to live games, but people go to these games for the atmosphere. The stadium is divided in half by school and all you see is the sea of blue red. Then the most interesting part is the cheering. It is literally nonstop dancing and singing. There is a special cheerleading club called AKARAKA that leads and teaches all the school cheer songs and dances in front of the stands. It is seriously impressive seeing a group of people dancing and singing enthusiastically from start to finish for more than two hours. It is easy to get sucked into the spirit of cheer and inclusiveness by the Yonsei students. I highly recommend that you go to at least one game if you attend in the fall semester.


I have never regretted the decision to finish my senior year of university in Korea. Fall semester was so exciting because I was able to meet all different sorts of people and experience things that never happened in my home university. Plus, fall in Korea is one of the most beautiful seasons and I never really appreciated fall until I came to Korea, since I lived in SoCal for most of my life. I would definitely say Fall 2017 is the best semester/quarter of my college career.

bottom of page